headershadow

How to delete “Personalization settings” made by an End-User in the SAP CRM WEBUI?

Print Friendly

Before I explain the details, let me first give you just a short use-case WHY you would want to do this?

Before a project Go-Live, the functional SAP CRM consultants have adapted screens to the requirements of the end-users, meaning based on the business input, you have made certain screen configurations , and made certain assignment blocks visible or not, you have defined whether they should be shown collapsed or opened direct on loading of the business object.

Now after the Go-live there probably are a lot of change requests, also on the level of screen configuration. If we for example add another assignment block on the Account Overview Page , then by default this will also be visible after transporting these changes, EXCEPT when the user already made personalization on either the overview page (assignment blocks settings) or e.g. on a certain assignment block itself – it depends on what changes you are making…

Example: Changing the assignment block details on an overview page

assignment block  in SAP CRM

The user could have changed assignment block following order of the assignment block, add ‘available assignment blocks’, remove blocks and even decide whether a block should be displayed as ‘collapsed’ or ‘expanded’.

Personalization in SAP CRM

When the end-user does make a change, these personalization settings are stored in table BSPC_DL_PERSSTOR.

So what can you do in such a case?

Now in the beginning of such a Hyper care Period, we usually did sent out a communication to our end-users or at least the key-users, explaining that we added a new assignment block on a certain overview page, telling them that if they would not see this, they should reset the settings back to the “Default”.

Now, although every user has had training about personalization, you can image that some people will not remember how to do so, making this communication less efficient.

Therefore, we wanted to use an option that gave US the ability to ‘force’ the reset to the default settings.

Table BSPC_DL_PERSSTOR

This table actually contains all personalization users have made on either overview pages and/or assignment blocks.

When I quickly check if I already have done any personalization I check this the following way:

SAP CRM table BSPC_DL_PERSSTOR

Executing this shows me 1 entry.

As you can see I already did change something in the component BP_HEAD (view BPHEADOVERVIEW).

For the purpose of illustration I will now quickly change something on the product overview page.

Currently, when I view any product , the following order of my first 3 assignment blocks is:

  1. Product Details
  2. Categories
  3. Attachments

I now change this following order, by drag and drop the asssignment block “Attachments” into the 2nd position.

When I now do a refresh on table BSPC_DL_PERSSTOR, I now see 2 entries instead of just one.

SAP CRM table BSPC_DL_PERSSTOR

So the entry related to the component PRD01OV (MaterialOV) has been added.
So I hope you can see this table is very useful if you would like to find out :

  • - Which personalization a specific user has done
  • - What personalization has been done by all users for a specific component/viewname

REPORT BSP_DLC_DELETE_PERSONALIZATION

Knowing which personalization was done for a certain user, or for a certain component and/or view name is the first step. Deleting this personalization is the focus of this chapter.

SAP provides us the following report to perform this action:

Program: SE38 >> BSP_DLC_DELETE_PERSONALIZATION

SAP CRM program BSP_DLC_DELETE_PERSONALIZATION

Executing this report will show you a selection table:

Again, for illustration purposes I will just delete the personalization I made in the previous chapter..so only for my User ID SAP7USER37 and for the component PRD01OV.

In the pop-up I click on “Yes”.

If I now check the table BSPC_DL_PERSSTOR where I previously had 2 entries for my User I now only see 1 entry.

That’s it for today
Speak to you soon
Davy

The SAP University Team

Davy has been working as an SAP Consultant since 2000 and started working in the SAP IS-U Module , but as of 2002 he has mainly worked as functional SAP CRM consultant and SAP Authorizations consultant.
More about

2 thoughts on “How to delete “Personalization settings” made by an End-User in the SAP CRM WEBUI?


Comment author said

By Vicki on 7 March 2014 at 23:54

Hi Davy - great information on personalization. I have found this article and your other article on the SPERS_OBJ table very helpful.

I have a question: I want to identify just those users who have made a specific personalization - i.e. personalized the Participation Rate field into the Trade Spends AB. All other personalization on that AB is OK. The BSPC_DL_PERSSTOR doesn't really show me what was personalized into the component/view - just that the view was personalized. Is there another table that could show me that information?

Thanks!

Vicki

 

Comment author said

By Davy Pelssers on 9 March 2014 at 07:34

Hi Vicki
I am not aware of such an option.

cheers
Davy

 

Leave a Reply


*